Getting a Handle on Compression

For some reason, compression was just one of those things for me that I just could not grasp right away. Ratios, thresholds, limiters, maximizers, attack, release…..I didn’t want any part of it. I just figured that compression was something that HAD to be done on a track, and I would just select a preset I THOUGHT sounded nice, and that was that. Little did I know, I was being a total ignorant jerkass. And my music sounded like shit.

Found this article a while back, really helped me grasp the basic functions of a typical compressor:

http://d4dirtyrecords.com/myblog/how-to-use-a-compressor-tutorial-3.html

I really like the analogy that he uses:

A compressor is like a little man who sits there with a remote control for the volume. Every time he hears the sound is too loud he turns the volume down until it’s quieter and then he turns it back up.

your welcome. 🙂

_chris

2 Responses to “Getting a Handle on Compression”

  1. Hey Chris, I just checked out that website explaining compression. I was having some difficulty trying to understand the concept as well. That website helped me out. Thanks

    Dubin

  2. Hey Chris, I just checked out that website explaining compression. I was having some difficulty trying to understand the concept as well. That website helped me out. Thanks

    Dubin

Leave a Reply

